[VN Music Spotlight]: G-Senjou no Maou – Close Your Eyes

Time for the second lot of music i’m dying to share. Since we had rock last week, i’m going for something a little slower, and a lot more moving.

Close Your Eyes is one of the ending songs for the amazing G-Senjou no Maou. The first time I heard it I was brought close to tears. It won’t be the same without the context, but I really do hope you enjoy it.

I’m not going to be reviewing G-Senjou no Maou, but for the record it’s something you absolutely must experience. I don’t care if you’ve never touched a Visual Novel before, it’s a masterpiece that will defy your expectations.

About Silvachief

I'm a Gamer that dabbles in a little bit of everything. I'm big on Video Games, Visual Novels, Anime, Books and TV Series, but there's more to me than just those!
Video | This entry was posted in Music Spotlight, Spotlight and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to [VN Music Spotlight]: G-Senjou no Maou – Close Your Eyes

  1. christopher says:

    The question I always ask myself on what makes a visual novel good is “Would this still interest me if it didn’t have sexual scenes?” Now don’t get me wrong, I don’t feel these scenes makes a visual novel bad or takes anything away from the VN’s story. But I do feel that these scenes can distort a reader’s view on how good the plot or narrative actually is. For me G-senjou no Maou is the perfect example of a visual novel that is brilliant with or without these scenes. The intrigue of the story and darkness of its atmosphere and themes appealed to me on the same level as Death Note with a ending and twist that was relevant to the characters. 10/10

    • Silvachief says:

      I think that question is incredibly fair. H-scenes can add to a story if they are done really well but a visual novel should be able to stand on its own without them. G-Senjou no Maou is a ridiculously compelling narrative that kept me hooked from beginning to end and has been my favorite VN since I finished it. I applaud your good taste, sir.

      On another note, I actually listened to this song earlier today and it still manages to get to me ^_^

      • christopher says:

        Showing how the characters have grown close enough that they do have sex does show a lot of good character development and I think this helps connect you to them emotionally for the climax scenes. But sometimes the excessive description and dialogue (esp with certain voice acting) blurs the line to the point that it feels they’re just adding those scenes to reach out to the fapping fan service audience as well, some of which just click through the story to get those scenes.
        It’s kind of a hard not feel a little choked up from the ending scenes, though it does make me curious on your 2nd favorite. Maybe you should do a top 5 or 10, it worked really well for Deluscar’s site, probably has the most views of her’s.

        • Silvachief says:

          I agree with you completely. Story-focused visual novels stemmed from eroge and developers learned that sex sells, so H-scenes are added in just to target a wider audience. Same thing as fan service in anime.

          I’ve actually been planning to put up a “Recommended Visual Novels” page for a while, though it will have to wait until I have some spare time in November. In the mean time my favorites list can be found in this thread:

          http://forums.fuwanovel.org/index.php?/topic/1173-vn-experience-favorite-ones/

          • christopher says:

            Some good recommendations there. I might have to look into giving Danganronpa a try as I’ve played and enjoyed the following three after it (plus it looks pretty bad-ass).
            If you have played 45 then I suppose you’ve probably tried any of the ones I’d recommend you.
            If you haven’t played; Saya no Uta (intensely atmospheric), Katawa Shoujo (beautiful music), Planetarian (shortest emotional trip ever), or Chaos;head (if don’t mind weird psycho-thrillers), then I’d guess I’d suggest those as the Steins;gate and Clannad anime are really good adaptions to the VNs.

            • Silvachief says:

              Dangan Ronpa was amazing; I really enjoyed it and will post a review for it eventually.

              I’ve played and enjoyed both Katawa Shoujo and Planetarian, though they won’t be getting reviews. I actually have a review up for Saya no Uta, though I personally didn’t really enjoy it.

              Chaos;Head and Steins;Gate are sitting at number 12 in my list of VNs to play 😉

              • christopher says:

                Oh right, I’d actually read that review on here but it must have slipped my mind (duh). Saya no Uta… I guess I liked it for the same reason I liked Chaos;Head, the 1st person P.O.V. of VNs are really good for atmospheric thrillers because you can’t see what’s behind you. (esp. in C;H where the main character looks over his shoulder a lot because of his paranoia).
                If you haven’t watched the C;H anime I’d warn you to stay away from it because it’s 3rd person format obviously has none of the same atmosphere. Steins;Gate, not so much. I would hold S;G up as another brilliant example of a VN that works without H-scenes which can easily be shown through it’s popularity even though it has none. The anime is good too, in my top ten.
                I’ll look forward to the Dangan Ronpa review (no spoilers plz).

                • Silvachief says:

                  After hearing all of this praise for Steins;Gate and Chaos;Head i’m definitely looking forward to them! I’m actually taking part in a contest at the moment to win one of the new Steins;Gate limited edition physical copies, so i’ll wait till after that’s finished to take a look at playing them.

                  Your wish is my command. Dangan Ronpa review will be up this Sunday for your reading pleasure (and I never spoil things ;))

                  On another note, these comment columns are getting thinner and thinner XD If you ever want to talk about visual novels or anime then feel free to check out The Geek Clinic’s facebook page, or you can send me an email directly. You can find info on both those options on my Contact/Follow Me page under the About tab =)

Leave a Reply

