Weekly Ramblings 3 – 5 Centimeters Per Second, Negima and Change

For a long time a lot of people having been telling me that 5 Centimeters Per Second is a really good Anime Movie and last weekend I finally managed to sit down and watch it. Given the amount of praise it received I was expecting a little bit more so it didn’t quite make my list of favorites. What it did do, however, was make me think a little bit about how stories are generally told. I probably wouldn’t watch it again, but it was certainly different.

5 Centimeters Per Second anime movie takaki tohno akari shinohara

You see, 5 cm/s isn’t your normal movie and in my opinion really shouldn’t be treated like one. It tells the story of two childhood friends who are separated at the end of elementary school and ultimately drift apart. One of the two moves on, treating their childhood experiences as fond memories and nothing more, while the other never forgets their companion, ignoring other relationships in the hope that one day they will be reunited. It’s a little depressing really, but what makes it interesting is how the story is told. It’s hard to put it into words exactly why I feel 5 cm/s was different, but as a viewer I felt much more disconnected from what was happening than I normally do. There’s less focus on interactions between characters and more on what each characters is thinking and feeling as time passes. Do any of you get what i’m talking about? Maybe it’s time to move on.

My other accomplishment for the week was finishing (well, nearly) my first Manga series, “Negima! Magister Negi Magi”. Previously I haven’t had much to do with Manga, which is probably fairly obvious, but Negima was a truly entertaining and unique experience that leaves me wanting more in a very good way.

Negima class asuna magister negi magi group

Following mage-in-training Negi Springfield as he starts work as an English teacher in a Japanese high school, you would be forgiven for thinking Negima was just another slice of life/harem story, though your misconceptions would be rapidly dispelled as the series transforms into an epic and compelling masterpiece (you do have to be able to see past the copious amounts of fan service, I must admit, though there’s less of it the further you read). Holding serious action in one hand, laugh-out-loud comedy in the other and excellent characters in its third (c’mon guys, I never said it had to have only two hands…), Negima is going to give me a significant case of PPD once i’m done with it. While some series have little to no character development, Negima’s characters practically smack you upside the head with it, meaning that you will become attached to them very quickly. People tell me the anime isn’t worth watching, but i’m not sure i’m going to be able to avoid checking it out.

The last thing I wanted to mention this week was the concept of change and why so many people are against it. I’ve written more than I meant to about other things so i’ll try to keep this brief. Nowadays there are far too many companies (including but not limited to game designers) that seem to be obsessed with innovation for the sake of innovation. You’ll get some examples of this when I post my review on Dead Space 3, but you only have to look as far as Facebook whenever they change their layout to get the idea.

They say that if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it. That idea doesn’t quite apply to this discussion, but it’s the only semi-relevant quote that came to mind. If whatever you’re going to do to my game or social networking site or whatever doesn’t benefit me in a tangible way, don’t bother. Your money and time would be better used elsewhere. I haven’t mentioned them yet, but if these points make you think about some of the new features advertised for the next generation consoles, you’re on the right track.

Xbox one backwards compatibility not compatible

Once again, a quote for you to enjoy:

“I shall grieve, and I shall weep for what I have lost. But I will never regret.” – Modified from Fate/Zero (Rider)

About Silvachief

I'm a Gamer that dabbles in a little bit of everything. I'm big on Video Games, Visual Novels, Anime, Books and TV Series, but there's more to me than just those!
This entry was posted in Weekly Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Weekly Ramblings 3 – 5 Centimeters Per Second, Negima and Change

  1. otakuiius says:

    I watched 5 cm/s this past week too! I have to agree with you that the movie is … different.. I don’t know I just had to take it from that “artistic” point of view to really enjoy it, you know? Congrats on finishing your first manga series!!! If you ever need a plethora of suggestions hit me up! 🙂

    -Gates

    • Silvachief says:

      I think “artistic” is exactly the word I was looking for! It’s not something to be watched for a compelling story, but more to appreciate the lesson that can be learned from it.
      I’ve read a little bit of the Pandora Hearts Manga but i’m not entirely sure whether I want to continue with it, so any recommendations would be much appreciated =)

  2. joshspeagle says:

    I think 5cm/s, like most of Shinkai’s movies, is incredibly artistic and tells a story in a very different way than most other shows. As Shinkai’s said himself, he wants to focus on making the atmosphere like a character (e.g. in his new film “Kotonoha no Niwa”, he says the rain is supposed to have a personality), which if anything makes his movies quite “different” and definitely, as otakuiius said, very “artistic”. I would say 5cm/s works best as an example of the “hyperreal” in the same way the new “Great Gatsby” movie does, and they both have very similar themes and executions.

    • Silvachief says:

      That’s actually a really interesting idea. Atmosphere is important and it’s definitely something 5 cm/s got right; thinking of it like a character, perhaps an onlooker, would undoubtedly have been incredibly helpful.
      I haven’t seen The Great Gatsby, but the name popping up everywhere so I may have to check it out.

  3. Annalyn says:

    I still haven’t watched 5 cm/s, but I’d like to, since I’ve heard about it several times. I’ll jut have to make sure it’s when I’m in a nice, focused mood. Sounds like if I’m in one of my more antsy states, I’ll have a very hard time sitting through it.
    I watched one of the anime adaptions of Negima a few years ago, and I really liked it (the TV-14 adaption, I believe, which has less fanservice than the other one). After reading this, I may need to go re-watch an ep or two for old time’s sake. I remember it was amusing, but I don’t remember why.
    Regarding change: totally agree! Obviously, I don’t have experience with changes in games and consoles, but I’d really like to be privy to some of the Facebook decision-making meetings. There must be some reason they’re throwing money and time at frequent changes, right?

  4. Silvachief says:

    Yeah, 5 cm/s won’t keep you entertained unless you’re in the mood to watch that type of film. My flatmate, who owns all the Negima i’ve read, hates the anime XD But i’ve disagreed with him before so i’ll probably look it up at some point anyway.
    There have been a lot of times i’ve questioned the business practices of a lot of companies. I’m continually amazed by what makes it through a screening process without someone thinking “But…hold on…isn’t this kind of pointless?”. One of the things that really annoys me is the switch to Smart Phones. It’s different from my other complaints because a lot of people genuinely like them, but I much prefer the old ones and, in NZ at least, you just can’t get decent ones any more =(

Leave a Reply

