Weekly Ramblings 4 – One Month Down, Japanese Food and Abhorrent Commands

Here we are, just over one month from where The Geek Clinic started. So what do we have to show for it?

Celebration Birthday VN Visual Novel Kira Kira Kirari

Over the course of the month we’ve had a grand total of 560 views, 47 comments (though half are from me XD) and 18 followers! To be honest I wasn’t expecting any followers other than the ones I knew beforehand who were obligated to join up, so welcome and thank you to all those who have been keeping up with the blog! It was actually just 4 days ago that we had the largest number of visitors to the blog in one day, so it’s nice to see that new people are still coming over here to check things out.

The second thing i’d like to talk about today is Japanese food. It always looks so very good in anime and visual novels but in real life there isn’t much of it that I actually like. Whenever I go to a Japanese restaurant (which isn’t often, admittedly) I make a point of ordering things on the menu that I recognize from series i’ve watched and, to be honest, it never really tastes as good as i’ve been led to believe. That’s not to say it’s badly made or anything (though it’s almost definitely not the same as you’d get in Japan itself), just that it’s not my sort of thing. So far i’ve tried miso soup, chicken udon noodle soup, tako yaki, various sushi and chicken yakisoba – which I realize isn’t very much at all. Despite my experiences so far, however,  i’m still looking forward to my first taiyaki!

How do you guys feel about Japanese cuisine? Is it just misaligned with western taste buds or am I alone in being woefully unable to appreciate it? (i’m also not a fan of white rice…maybe i’m just weird >.>)

Food Fate Stay Night Anime sakura saber taiga matou fujimura

Lastly i’m going to bring up a theme that I absolutely hate in any story, but that actually applies to real life as well. I’ve called it Abhorrent Commands in the title but that doesn’t really get the meaning across. I’m thinking about those times where someone violates their own morals and values because a situation has demanded that they do so. It might be the kind of blind faith shown in some religions, where any order from a higher power must be considered necessary, regardless of what that order is (now i’m not trying to offend anyone here, i’m just using this as an example). It may be due to a rigid sense of duty, where your promise to another overrides any of your own needs or feelings. It may even be when you’re asked to do something at work, and you have to do it because you need to keep your job.

I don’t think i’ve managed to get the idea across with those, so here are a few actual examples i’ve encountered recently (don’t worry, no spoilers). Wiping out an entire city and everyone in it, including your friends, because the organization you work for has assured you that it’s for the good of mankind, and they must be right. Refusing to help civilians in an emergency situation, even though you’re in a position to do so, because orders are orders, and they are always absolute.

Fullmetal Alchemist brotherhood ishval genocide riza hawkeye roy mustang

In any case, it’s a situation that I hate to see. It’s always frustrating, especially in the cases where the person doesn’t even question what they’ve been asked to do, even though they know it’s wrong. There are situations where there’s nothing you can do about it, but in general if you have to think twice about an order or request you probably shouldn’t be doing it, regardless of where it came from.

Anyways, that’s all I have to say this week. I’ll try and write about something more up-beat next time. Here’s your quote:

From comatose to bitch in three seconds flat!” – About Rin Tohsaka, Fate/Stay Night universe (actual quote from the main character of Fate/Extra)

About Silvachief

I'm a Gamer that dabbles in a little bit of everything. I'm big on Video Games, Visual Novels, Anime, Books and TV Series, but there's more to me than just those!
This entry was posted in Weekly Ramblings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Weekly Ramblings 4 – One Month Down, Japanese Food and Abhorrent Commands

  1. Annalyn says:

    It’s already been a month? Wow. It’s been a fun month. 🙂

    I haven’t had much Japanese food, other than sweets (particularly Pocky). I’m pretty sure my pickiness would apply to Japanese food just as much as to food from every other country. I do want to try some, though. I’d even be willing to try a bite of sushi, despite the fishy ingredients. And udon has been mentioned so many times in Space Bros, I really want to have a taste.

    • Silvachief says:

      I thought I would be posting this earlier than the actual one month anniversary, but in reality i’m a few days late >..<
      I also need to try pocky (which i've only seen in Ga-Rei Zero, I think), but i've wanted to try Taiyaki ever since I played Kanon, so it's number one on the list.

      • Annalyn says:

        You… haven’t… had… Pocky?! You poor thing… it’s one of my favorite treats, and quite palatable to my American tastes. I’d like to try taiyaki, too. I had to Google it, but once I saw the picture, I recognized it well.

  2. Justin says:

    I’ve had my fair share of Japanese food. In fact, I just had some Terakawa ramen today 😀

  3. joshspeagle says:

    Having now lived in Japan for a month and a half, I’d say that a disliking of white rice will probably alienate like 50% of the cuisine lol.

    I really like the food here, eating onigiri, sushi, ramen, and whatnot all the time, and as of yet haven’t been disappointed after ordering food I recognize from an anime. Maybe it’s just your taste, or maybe the quality of the restaurants you go to, but my two cents is that Japanese food is awesome XD.

    As for your Abhorrent Commands thing, I understand the frustration. But it’s a real thing that will always be relevent in real life (self vs. group), and so seeing the conflict explored in a myriad of different ways is usually pretty interesting to me…unless the choice is so damned obvious you can’t help but just yell at the screen in frustration lol.

  4. Silvachief says:

    When I say white rice I mean plain white rice – fried rice is fine, but that probably still dramatically limits the dishes available to me XD
    I definitely think that part of it is the quality of the restaurant (if we’re being honest, I didn’t actually choose the place >.<), and I fully intend to retry things if I ever find myself in Japan.

    I suppose there are degrees of severity for Abhorrent Commands and due to the nature of anime (that is being able to explore situations impossible in real life), they're almost always going to be on a larger scale than we would normally see. I say that they're frustrating, but that doesn't mean that they decrease the quality of a story in any way (unless, like you said, the correct choice is obvious). In fact, being able to make you experience that frustration and feel the need to yell out or cringe or whatever is probably the hallmark of a good show, just like being able to make you experience any sort of emotional extreme is.

  5. Kai says:

    I haven’t really tasted a lot of Japanese food as well, I tried udon, ramen and various sushi. The former two isn’t up to my expectatios (honestly it just taste like any other noodles, maybe it’s just the restaurant I go to) but the sushi are awesome xD Especially when you dip in those Japanese soy sauce.

    Ohh and I also ate dorayaki

  6. Silvachief says:

    I agree with you about the noodles; they didn’t have any special taste to differentiate them from other similar dishes.
    Unfortunately I have been denied the ability to enjoy sushi, as I find that the taste of fresh seaweed overpowers everything else and i’m not a big fan of it.
    I had to look up dorayaki, but they look pretty nice ^_^

  7. There are no Japanese restaurants in my town so I’ve never tried any of their food T___T although I like sushi a lot!
    http://blackragdoll.blogspot.com

    • Silvachief says:

      We have a few of them, but none of them are really high quality. I feel like I should reserve judgement for when I try the real deal though 😉 Also, sorry about the delay in replying…wordpress identified your comment as spam >.<

Leave a Reply

