Weekly Ramblings 8 – State of Decay, Maoh: Juvenile Remix and The Lies We Tell Ourselves

Tomorrow will mark The Geek Clinic’s second month of operation and things are continuing to pick up! We’ve had an increase in the number of views and visitors every week so far, so I thank everyone reading for that and hope it continues!

Today i’m going to talk about the second Manga i’ve ever finished, an Xbox Live Arcade game I waited ages for and there’ll be a little bit at the end where i’ll discuss all the small (or not so small) ways in which we deceive ourselves.

State of Decay Wallpaper

State of Decay is the first game developed by Undead Labs. They had a bit of trouble releasing it in Oceania because Australia couldn’t get its act together (seriously, they’re the reason we can’t have nice things), but it eventually managed make its way here and i’m glad it did. There are a lot of zombie-themed games out there, so many in fact that some people are starting to get sick of them. However, State of Decay is the first to take a look at what life would really be like if there ever actually was a zombie outbreak. It’s not perfect by any means, but it’s fun while it lasts and is probably the closest thing to a Zombie Apocalypse Simulator i’ve ever played.

In State of Decay you’ll find yourself dealing with things like food shortages, sickness, allocation of space, other groups of survivors, scavenging trips and searches for new homes. It doesn’t try to tell a story, it just lets you live each day as it comes while you attempt to keep your community intact, which is a good thing and a bad thing. Though the lack of story means that the Simulation aspects of the game come to the fore, it also means that there’s nothing to keep you interested once the novelty of the game wears off. I’d say I spent somewhere between 5 and 10 hours with State of Decay before i’d had enough and I thoroughly enjoyed that time – State of Decay does a great job for an Arcade game.

Maoh Juvenile Remix Wallpaper

Maoh: Juvenile Remix is a 10 volume manga series featuring random people with unexplained powers and a city of sheep. While only two-thirds of that sentence should be taken literally, the third part is the bit that got my attention. Maoh is about a guy called Inukai who is squeaky clean on the outside but more than a little rotten once you get a closer look, who wants to step into politics and eventually rule Japan (I think). The protagonist, Ando, sees Inukai for what he really is after witnessing how he deals with those that oppose him, and tries to use his ability of forcing others to say whatever he wants to expose Inukai for what he really is. The rest of the city (mostly) haven’t got a speck of individuality, common sense or decency between them and fanatically support Inukai, even to the point of attempting to kill anyone even vaguely associated with his opposition.

My flatmate tells me that Maoh is an excellent example of Crowd Psychology, but I really hope that’s not the case. I’d like to think that in a group of people supporting a political candidate, and one who appears to be a champion of justice at that, at least one person would speak up when the prospect of killing innocent people comes up. In Maoh, things even get to the point where the protagonist is preventing from calling an ambulance for an innocent elderly couple injured in a fire, just because the son of Inukai’s opponent was seen at their house. The state of society Maoh depicts is a little depressing, but it was an okay read, even if the ending was absolutely terrible and gave no closure whatsoever. Though i’m not sure I would recommend it, you may as well give it a go if it looks interesting.

Objection

I’ve heard it said that the biggest lies are the ones we tell ourselves. I know for one that the biggest lie I ever told myself regarding this blog was that I would only spend 15 minutes writing my Weekly Ramblings posts – this one’s currently at about 45 minutes. I’m not sure i’ve ever told myself any big lies though; things like “I don’t need to write this down, i’ll just remember it” and “I’ll definitely keep up with my lectures this semester” crop up fairly often, but I can’t think of anything truly significant. Granted that I can’t think of any truly significant lies i’ve told other people either, so I suppose i’m not the best person to be talking about this.

One of the things that sometimes show up in the GSN (game, series or novel) world is the concept that if you feel strongly enough about a falsehood you may soon come to believe it yourself. Common uses of this concept can be seen where characters desperately try to deny that a loved one has passed away and continues to act as if nothing has been lost: talking to and interacting with that person as if they were still there. I’m not sure if that sort of phenomenon exists in real life (though some bereaved people claim to hear their loved ones’ voice or feel their prescence), though fictional examples can be found in things like Scrubs (which I love) and the Visual Novel [MINOR SPOILERS] Kira Kira [/MINOR SPOILERS].

I don’t have anything more to say on the issue, but it’s one that interests me so if you guys have any more examples i’d love for you to share them (with spoiler tags if necessary).

Trust Anime Lying

A rather difficult state of affairs, i’d imagine.

That’s it for this week. You may have noticed that i’m not really doing picture captions, which is because my pictures are so big they cut out the caption’s border and look really awkward >.< The hidden messages are still there though, so all of you who are in the know can still enjoy them! (or not, as the case may be)

“Always speak the truth, even if your voice shakes.” – No clue where it’s from, but I felt it was appropriate.

About Silvachief

I'm a Gamer that dabbles in a little bit of everything. I'm big on Video Games, Visual Novels, Anime, Books and TV Series, but there's more to me than just those!
This entry was posted in Weekly Ramblings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weekly Ramblings 8 – State of Decay, Maoh: Juvenile Remix and The Lies We Tell Ourselves

  1. Kai says:

    Not sure if I want to read Maoh but I will be sure to give it a look. Sad for the ending though, is the manga axed?

    The concept of lying to oneself is seen in quite a lot of anime, manga and visual novels. Chuunibyou is one example for anime, in those cases, the act of lying oneself is usually where they are looking away from the problem at hand instead of facing it off. It’s a popular theme especially for slice-of-life and drama.

  2. Silvachief says:

    The manga’s finished, but I don’t know whether it was cut or concluded naturally. I wouldn’t be surprised if it was cut though, because the ending seems rushed and doesn’t really wrap anything up…almost as if the author was suddenly given a certain number of issues they had to finish in.

    Is Chuunibyou any good? I have it but I don’t really know anything about it.

Leave a Reply

