[Anime Music Spotlight]: Black Rock Shooter (Hatsune Miku)

I think it’s finally time for some new blood in the Music Spotlight, so this week I have something a little special to share. It’s not from my favorite anime, nor is it my favorite song, nor my favorite singer, but I still think it deserves a little bit of attention.

For those of you who haven’t heard of Hatsune Miku, she’s a hugely popular and completely fictional singer that serves as the face of a program called Vocaloid. Vocaloid allows you to create songs by modifying variables like pitch and tone to get the sound you want. While most of the time you can tell that the voice is computerized the results are nonetheless very impressive. Miku even has live concerts where she’s projected onto a screen and has an accompanying band.

Black Rock Shooter is interesting because the song existed before the anime, having been inspired by some concept art. I’m going to include the OP for the Black Rock Shooter anime as well as a version included in a Vocaloid video game that I prefer.

About Silvachief

I'm a Gamer that dabbles in a little bit of everything. I'm big on Video Games, Visual Novels, Anime, Books and TV Series, but there's more to me than just those!
This entry was posted in Music Spotlight, Spotlight and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to [Anime Music Spotlight]: Black Rock Shooter (Hatsune Miku)

  1. Kai says:

    “Black Rock Shooter”‘s not my favorite track, but it’s definitely noteworthy of mention due to Black Rock Shooter (the character)’s fame. In fact, trying to find a favorite track in Vocaloid is an extremely difficult challenge. Vocaloid has thousand of releases – from singles, albums, game OSTs, etc.. all from different kind of composers. I had a brief look at my Vocaloid folder and it hits almost close to 2GB, even then my collection isn’t even 1/10 of all the Vocaloid releases.. D:

    • Silvachief says:

      My flatmate bought Project Diva F on PSN, so I have a couple of weeks of exposure to Vocaloid songs. Many of them are catchy, but not quite what I like. The one that I liked enough to put on my ipod was Continuation of a Dream, which i’ll probably post up here at some point as well.

      • Kai says:

        I’m still looking for a good PS3 deal for that game, lol. But as a last resort, yea, I guess PSN’s a choice. I need to buy the cards myself though >_> How much did you flatmate bought for it?

        • Silvachief says:

          Do you mean Weiss Schwarz cards? The English versions of them have just been released in NZ, though i’m already collecting Fate/Zero.
          I think he got it for $70-ish New Zealand dollars. I can’t quite remember.

Leave a Reply

