[Anime Music Spotlight]: Puella Magi Madoka Magica – Connect

Some of you may have heard that the third Madoka Magica movie premiered recently. I know I have – many, many times. Rather than descending into jealousy of those that were able to attend, I figured i’d join in the fun with Madoka Magica’s OP: Connect.

Below you’ll find the OP, its full version and an english version that’s pretty amazing in my opinion.

About Silvachief

I'm a Gamer that dabbles in a little bit of everything. I'm big on Video Games, Visual Novels, Anime, Books and TV Series, but there's more to me than just those!
This entry was posted in Music Spotlight, Spotlight and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to [Anime Music Spotlight]: Puella Magi Madoka Magica – Connect

  1. 123 says:

    Never really was that fond of Connect, besides it suiting the anime’s first few episodes. But talking about Madoka, apparently the 3rd movie is going to be screened at Madman’s REEL ANIME, which includes New Zealand according to the website, so maybe you’ll be able to see it there in a few months!

    • Silvachief says:

      I quite like it, though I wasn’t a fan of the OP visuals since they were completely irrelevant to the series XD And I love the English version.
      Ooh, I went to the last REEL ANIME so I certainly hope they return. I haven’t watched the first two, though, although I know they’re just alternate takes on the original.

      • 123 says:

        I haven’t watched the first two either, but since they’re just the TV series redone I’m gonna go see the third without watching them.

        The English version singer has a bit of a fiercer, rougher tone than the original, which is a nice twist. Also, the phrasing isn’t awkward. I’ve heard quite a few English version JPop songs where words are sung overly fast or slow to fit the melody and it ends up sounding weird, but this one times them fairly well.

        • Silvachief says:

          The first two apparently have some small differences. I haven’t exactly looked it up though, so i’m not sure how different they are.

          I really like Miku-tan’s vocals in that song. It’s one of the only English-version-OPs/EDs that i’ve rated as good as the original (the other being the Oath Sign cover by Erica Mendez/Rikatwoo). It’s unfortunate that I don’t know any of the other songs she’s covered. There’s another group that my flatmate likes that does English dubs called AmaLee/Leeandlie, do you know them/do you have an opinion on them?

          • 123 says:

            I hadn’t heard of AmaLee/Leeandlie (I don’t listen to English versions with any regularity), so I went to YouTube to quickly check them out. Opinions…well the singer mostly sounds good in her more recent songs, although I wasn’t too impressed with some of the earlier ones. I prefer stronger sounding vocalists though, and there were a few flat notes now and then. Still, there were some nice covers there.

            • Silvachief says:

              I’m not exactly a music critic so I find it hard to explain, but I don’t like most of their songs. Maybe i’m like you and prefer stronger vocals, though to me part of it is that every song they cover sounds similar. Still, I can tell that the ability of the singer is noteworthy and I could never complain about anime OP/EDs being dubbed.

  2. I just started watching this. And I think I’m having too high expectations..

  3. Kai says:

    I don’t think the OP really fits with the anime.. >_> If Madoka is just a standard typical magical anime, then it would fit, but we all know Madoka is nothing like that at all :p

  4. Josh says:

    Yessssss – I absolutely love this opening (and more generally, ClariS)! So much nostalgia 😀

    Also super excited to see Miku-tan get featured – she’s absolutely amazing and I’ve been following her for forever, so it’s really cool you love her English cover!

  5. Annalyn says:

    Yup, this is definitely a nice alternative to jealousy. I enjoyed listening to the English – I’d only heard the original OP.

    When I heard people got to go see the movie, I immediately looked it up… and learned that it was only in a few select theaters, usually with only one showing at those theaters. Well… maybe I’ll get to see the DVD someday.

    • Silvachief says:

      There’s an anime-festival-type thing that makes its way around NZ once a year, so I might get to see it there at least. I plan on watching the other 2 movies first though.

Leave a Reply

