[Anime Music Spotlight]: Black Cat – Konoyo no Uta

Black Cat was…an average anime at best. While I did complete the series it didn’t leave any last impression on me, and neither the OPs nor EDs caught my interest.

Konoyo no Uta was an insert song that wasn’t even fully played during the show but once i’d heard it I just had to look up the complete song. It’s probably the most relaxing piece of music in my itunes arsenal.

About Silvachief

I'm a Gamer that dabbles in a little bit of everything. I'm big on Video Games, Visual Novels, Anime, Books and TV Series, but there's more to me than just those!
This entry was posted in Music Spotlight, Spotlight and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to [Anime Music Spotlight]: Black Cat – Konoyo no Uta

  1. garejei says:

    Well it’s generic shounen, so of course it’s gonna be average at best. I watched this many years ago and remember kinda liking the OP song, though.

    • Silvachief says:

      I can’t really remember the OP, though the ED had some pretty interesting visuals. As far as generic shounen go…I guess I haven’t watched enough of them to form a solid opinion. However I can understand that shows doing nothing to separate themselves from the rest of the pack would become quite boring.

  2. Lambda says:

    As someone who’s read (and loved) the Big 3 + stuff like Medaka Box, Nurahiyon no Mago and Kekkaishi, I love generic shounen battle manga so much (as well as generic shounen sports manga!) but… yeah… Black Cat is more a nostalgia thing for me (sounded really cool when I watched it, okay?!). I also kinda liked the OP. I have it on my iPod. By the way, this is another series whose manga wildly diverges from the anime into… another type of generic shounen battle manga. You can’t win every time.

    (On another note, I can’t believe you haven’t spotlighted Tachiagare kedakaku mae sadame wo uketa senshi yo yet. Did you not like it or are you saving it?)

    • Silvachief says:

      Being a fan of generic shounen battle manga, can you recommend me any anime that might bring me onto your side of the fence? Chances are I already have them, but I can prioritize what I watch ^_^

      Do you mean Asu e no Houkou? The Muv-Luv Alternative OP? The way I pick my spotlights is by going through my list of songs in order of which ones I have listened to most, while only picking one song from each series during each cycle (and not including songs added after the cycle has begun). Complicated, right? XD Asu e no Houkou only recently joined the list, so although it’s reasonably high up I have not yet been able to add it. Rest assured, it -will- go up and it -will- be raved about 😉

      • Lambda says:

        If you don’t mind length, Hunter x Hunter is super good (I’d just stop after the Chimera Ant arc, though, unless you really want to see Leorio again), and One Piece gets really really exciting, especially around Marineford (and I nearly cried over a ship! A literal ship!). Kekkaishi is one of my favourites, although I think that’s because I read so much shounen manga in its most generic form. Magi is also pretty good. It gets to politics and intrigue and stuff and that’s actually my favourite part. I can try to think of more. If I do, I’ll leave a message on your “What I’m Up To” page, I guess? Unless you decide that you hate shounen battle manga (in which case I’ll just have to recommend shounen sports manga. And Assassination Classroom. Because Assclass is really funny).

        I know it by its best line (although I do know the name, I’m choosing to ignore it). Not always a great approach, but a lot of the time they’re the same as the title~ Wow, that is a system! I’m impressed! I can wait patiently to tachiagare kedakaku mae.

        • Silvachief says:

          I already have Hunter x Hunter, so that will probably be the first one I try out. I just have to work up the courage to start another long series (I also have Gintama and Fairy Tale waiting for me).

  3. Annalyn says:

    That is a lovely song!

    I started Black Cat well over a year ago (maybe more than two years). I didn’t exactly drop it – I might finish it someday. I remember enjoying the first 17 or so episodes. But I have to be in the right mood and focus to stick with anime. For example, I still haven’t finished Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood (yes, that’s embarrassing for me to admit). So I assumed it was just me being flaky again. But maybe it was my subconscious telling me to move on to something a little less “average.”

    • Silvachief says:

      I know very well that the more time I leave between watching episodes, the less likely I am to finish the anime in question…and the same applies to video games and visual novels. Because of that, if I intend to finish a series I force myself to watch it at a reasonable rate. If too much time passes I may never get back to watching.

      If something’s really average to begin with though the little voice telling me to keep watching it is a little less persuasive. 07 Ghost is an example of an anime I just couldn’t be bothered finishing.

      You should definitely finish Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood ^_^

Leave a Reply

