[VN Music Spotlight]: Muv-Luv Alternative – Asu e no Houkou

For the music portion of the Muv-Luv Marathon, i’ve saved the best for last. When it comes to Muv-Luv songs, Gare over at Gareblogs said it best by naming Asu e no Houkou the Muv-Luv Alternative OP A.K.A. “The best VN opening in the history of ever”.

Very few songs will ever get me as pumped and excited as Asu e no Houkou. Watching it every time you start up the visual novel is very much part of the Muv-Luv Alternative experience.

I’ll put up the original OP, followed by the full song.

About Silvachief

I'm a Gamer that dabbles in a little bit of everything. I'm big on Video Games, Visual Novels, Anime, Books and TV Series, but there's more to me than just those!
This entry was posted in Music Spotlight, Spotlight and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to [VN Music Spotlight]: Muv-Luv Alternative – Asu e no Houkou

  1. garejei says:

    I’ve listened to this so many times I practically know the lyrics by heart.

  2. rikuo06 says:

    With JAM Project, the awesomeness is basically a given. However, the ef OPs have it beat in my opinion. Of course, the two are completely different in tone and style, so comparing them doesn’t mean much.

    • Silvachief says:

      I haven’t heard a lot of JAM Project’s stuff (or perhaps I didn’t know who they were at the time), though I have heard some other songs by Endoh Masaaki which I enjoy (from Dengeki Stryker).
      As for Ef’s OP, I had to go back and re-listen to it. The opening and chorus are very catchy but the song as a whole is not one that I would choose to listen to outside of the VN. Of course, I might have had a different opinion if I felt more attached to Ef.

  3. Lambda says:

    Singing this song before the game started was great – I felt refreshed~ This is also the only eroge opening I watched every time without fail before playing. For every time I played a 50 hour game. Woot. Although I haven’t played a lot of linear eroge… I must also admit to being kinda :/ at the opening itself based on the fact that it’s basically all reused animation. I dunno, I’d prefer they not animate the opening if it’s just reused scenes… At least they realize that a lot of Unlimited’s opening looks super outdated. (I also really enjoy singing the other two JAM Project Alternative songs. They’re really good for passionate pump-up pieces, huh?)

    • Silvachief says:

      I also -loved- watching Alternative’s OP every time I started it up. I felt a little cheated by the animation recycling as well, but for the most part I didn’t care because it was remixed to fit the music really well.

      The quality of Unlimited’s OP animation hadn’t even registered with me until I posted the video last week. Some of it’s really not very nice >.< Are these other songs OPs and EDs for other Muv-Luv titles or are they independent?

      • Lambda says:

        Ahh it really got you excited, right? At the very end, I sang it on the verge of tears (cause it sends you back to the start after the credits and I wanted to see if a CG gallery unlocked or something… and then decided it might be a good thing it didn’t, given some of the CGs). Yeah, that’s true. I can actually commend them for managing to pick out the good scenes from Unlimited and make some really spoiler-tastic scenes in Alternative seem innocent (I could spot one or two new scenes; the notable one being Kasumi and Sumika speaking at the end, which is pretty much the same just animated slightly). It’s just… Alternative seems like it had a huge budget in every other respect, you know?

        Ah, should’ve been clearer. The JAM Project songs I was talking about are other openings for MLA ports~ I’m really enjoying Name~Kimi no Na wa~ right now, especially. Get Your Way! Donna toki mo kimi no na wo wasurenai!:
        http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9v–NPYqVA0 (Xbox 360 – Metamorphose)
        http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xb0EvHRSMmc (PS3 – 0 Gravity – GRANRODEO but might as well throw this up there to complete the MLA port set)
        http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MNNOQnXRTjc (All Ages – Name ~ Kimi no Na Wa~ – Subbed)

  4. Kai says:

    The lyrics. The FEELS 😀

Leave a Reply

