[Video Game Review]: Ys: The Oath in Felghana

ys oath

Developer – Nihon Falcom Corporation

Publisher – XSEED Games

Platforms – PSP, PC

 The Ys series is one that I’ve seen talked about here and there throughout the internet but never actually played until recently, and I’m really glad I decided to pick it up (with a recommendation from Awesomecurry). The Oath In Felghana is something like a remake of the third instalment of the Ys series and is a good place to start if you want to try it out. The game’s formula works perfectly for the PSP and succeeds at everything it tries to do; if it had aimed a little higher, it would have been a truly amazing experience.

 The Ys games all focus on a young, flame-haired man by the name of Adol Christin. In this particular story we find Adol together with his oftentimes companion, Dogi, on their way to visit Dogi’s hometown. Surprise, surprise, it’s recently been infested with monsters and it’s up to Adol and his friend (well…mostly Adol) to figure out what’s up and save the town. With corrupt governance, age-old evil powers and a childhood friend turned bad, The Oath In Felghana (hereafter TOIF) delivers every adventure cliché you could think of in the best possible manner.

ys oath2

 Despite having a relatively small portion of the game devoted to actual storytelling, Ys is incredibly well written. It actually feels like you’re reading a book complete with narrator, which makes sense because your experience of the story is meant to come from reading Adol’s diary. Unfortunately, while it may be well delivered, TOIF’s plot isn’t some epic tale that’s going to stick with you for the rest of your life. As mentioned earlier it’s riddled with the clichés you seen in every generic fantasy adventure story and doesn’t do a whole lot to differentiate itself. That said, I was never bored by what was going on and the characters were of a high enough quality that I didn’t feel like the unoriginal story detracted from my experience.

 The game itself is split between small story segments and slightly larger dungeon runs with bosses scattered throughout them and some platforming elements. Though the combat is mostly a basic “tap X until the enemy breaks into tiny pieces” affair, its fast pace and small number of alternate attacks make it exciting and fun. There’s also a magic system that you’re forced to use on occasion, as well as limited platforming segments which add another pinch of spice to the mix. The entire experience is fine-tuned and streamlined so that everything you do, from conquering bosses to traveling around the map, flows together smoothly, making for a very enjoyable gameplay portion. Speaking of bosses, TOIF’s are some of the most interesting and fun to fight that I’ve ever seen. Each one has a new and novel set of mechanics that changes throughout the fight so that you’ll always be on your toes. To be honest, they were probably my favorite parts of the game.

ys oath3

 Due the style of its graphics Ys’ visuals won’t turn any heads, though that doesn’t mean it isn’t pleasing to look at. As with many of its other aspects the game doesn’t try for much but achieves its goals perfectly. While the character models are small and the backgrounds are limited, they’re all well done for what they are and everything fits together well graphically. In addition to this a number of the main characters have their own sprites which show up when they’re speaking which serve to augment your conversations with them. As a final note, as well as featuring some really heart-pumping and exciting background music, TOIF has some of the best English voice acting I’ve encountered, with characters’ voices fitting both their look and the overall setting of the game.

 Summary: Ys: The Oath In Felghana was exactly what I wanted in a PSP game. It was easy to get into, to just pick up and play whenever I felt like it, while still featuring a well written (if cliché) story and being a whole lot of fun. Neither the story nor the gameplay are deep enough to convert you into some Ys-series-loving fanatic but for what it is the game is perfectly executed. If you’re at all curious I highly recommend picking it up on either PSP or Steam.

 Score: 8/10 – Good

ys oath4

About Silvachief

I'm a Gamer that dabbles in a little bit of everything. I'm big on Video Games, Visual Novels, Anime, Books and TV Series, but there's more to me than just those!
This entry was posted in Reviews, Video Game Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to [Video Game Review]: Ys: The Oath in Felghana

  1. Kai says:

    I remembered playing this game before I changed my desktop (guess it’s minimum requirements aren’t that high), and when I changed my desktop, I completely forgot to backup my saves, lol. Got too lazy to start again right after that, but guess I should get to it soon. On a side note, I actually tried playing Y’s 1 (did you play it?), and while I understand it’s supposed to be a classic, the gameplay’s still absolutely horrid, lol. It’s basically just mauling down enemies again, and again, and again using the directional buttons, there are no attack buttons, defense (wait, I think there was? Couldn’t remember) nor dodge. I think I might just go crazy if I continue playing the game with such oversimplified gameplay, and it takes a while to level up even at Level 1, lol. Maybe something will change after a little while, perhaps with the inclusion of magic or something, but the game’s on hold for now, lol.

    Anyway, I digress.

    From what I can remember from my gameplay with Ys: The Oath in Felghana, it’s definitely a good game. It’s not groundbreaking in any form, and while the gameplay’s simple, it has just the right amount of variety to spice things up. I’m not sure if it’s a good gateway into the Y’s series, but since my attempt at playing Y’s all the way from Y’s I seem to ended in failure, I don’t think I can do much about it :p I should probably just skip right ahead to this game soon.

    • Silvachief says:

      I will be reviewing Ys I & II as well as The Ark of Napishtim for my next video game article, so you’ll find out my thoughts about those then! I can definitely see where you’re coming from…I think one of the only reasons I finished them was because I wanted to know a little about where the Ys story started and the games aren’t too long anyway.

      Having played a number of the Ys games now (with the exception of the newer ones and Origins) I would definitely say that Oath was my favorite. It has the best gameplay and a solid story to back it up. It’s also not overly long, so it’s probably worth having another go at =)

Leave a Reply

