[Announcement]: Visual Novel Hall Of Shame!

Forgiv

You asked for it and here it is!

Broken up into three helpful categories, the VN Hall of Shame features every title that has annoyed or disappointed me over the years (as well as those that get far too much attention for how good they actually are).

The Geek Clinic’s Visual Novel Hall of Shame

If you want to find it once this post has been buried, check under the Visual Novel Recommendations tab.

About Silvachief

I'm a Gamer that dabbles in a little bit of everything. I'm big on Video Games, Visual Novels, Anime, Books and TV Series, but there's more to me than just those!
This entry was posted in Announcement and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to [Announcement]: Visual Novel Hall Of Shame!

  1. Pingback: [Announcement]: Recommendations Lists (Anime, OELVN, Visual Novels) and Social Media Plug | The Geek Clinic

  2. Lambda says:

    Good news! Your taste is decent. Both the things in your “Disappointing Visual Novels” actually make me Angry, and I like Steins Gate and Grisaia a little more than you appear to, but that’s personal preference so, good list. I agree 1010% with Ever17, (although I have to say the same thing about Little Busters and Muv Luv Extra… Alternative is worth it, I guess, but I really don’t believe in the “you NEED to read Extra to get Alternative” thing. If you hate it, skip it to Unlimited). I was tricked into thinking Muramasa was gonna appear though lol.

    P.S. Was Edelweiss/Kira Kira/Deardrops made by a different Overdrive team than Cho Dengeki Stryker? I was thinking Dengeki would also be a way to gauge my interest in Overdrive novels starting from a genre I know I enjoy, but I guess not….?

    • Silvachief says:

      *Fist Pump*

      I -really- need to get back to Little Busters to confirm how I feel about it because every time it’s mentioned I realize that I really don’t have a solid opinion of it >.< Muv Luv Extra certainly isn't as good as its sequel VNs but the ML community fully admits that, so it wasn't a candidate for the list (I seem to have liked it more than most, as well). You -could- skip it and go straight to Unlimited, but i'm one of the people that thinks doing that would significantly limit your enjoyment of the story as a whole (I can imagine people moving onto Alternative and being very disappointed when their favorite character is shoved aside for one that would be practically a stranger).

      I'm not entirely sure about whether different teams were involved in their production…but Edelweiss is completely different to the others and Dengeki Stryker also feels quite different to Kira Kira and Deardrops. If you're not sure about trying them, i'd recommend Deardrops over Kira Kira because its tone is a little more mature…and its translation is better by an order of magnitude.

  3. Lazarinth says:

    For the amount of VN you’ve read I was expecting a lot more bad ones. I stick by Stiens;Gate in the hopes that the anime will change your mind.

    • Silvachief says:

      There are lots of visual novels that are simply average which I don’t feel particularly positive or negative about and the list of those would be massive; I decided to only include VNs I could say something about.

      I’ll get around to the Steins;Gate anime eventually! Need some time to get the original out of my system first so I can give it the best shot I can.

      • Lazarinth says:

        Fair, I’m just surprised how much time you’ve spent reading VNs your apathetic about.
        I mean you have ranked a few pretty terribly like YMK that aren’t on that list.
        On a side note, I’ll just send you the half-edited light novel tomorrow with another book you might want to give ago.

  4. Kai says:

    I know we will have some disagreements with some of those titles, but I definitely agree with you on Cross Channel-it really takes “mindless repetition” on a whole new level ಠ_ಠ‎

Leave a Reply

